PDRC name 20 intersections targeted

Anti-government protest leaders have announced which 20 intersections will be targeted by the Jan 13 mass rally to "shut down" the capital and force the resignation of the caretaker government headed by Yinguck Shinawatra and implement national reforms before elections.

The details were announced by People's Democratic Reform Committee (PDRC) leader Suthep Thaugsuban.

"Twenty more stages will be set up. We'll occupy the intersections all day and night and we'll have fun on the streets.

"Anyone who wants to set up a stage can contact us so the work can be shared out," the PDRC secretary-general said on the stage of the main protest at Democracy Monument on Friday.

Mr Suthep named the 20 intersections: 

1) Uruphong 

2) Charoenpol

3) Hua Lamphong

4) Bang Rak

5) Silom

6) Sam Yan

7) Phaya Thai

8) Ratchathewi

9) The Victory Monument

10) Siam Square

11) Lat Phrao five-way intersection

12) Din Daeng

13) Pratunam

14) Ratchaprasong

15) Lumpini

16) Klong Toey

17) Asok

18) Ratchadamnoen

19) Petchaburi

20) Yaowarat

The Ratchadamnoen stage would be the centre for coordinating with anti-government demonstrators at other stages, he said.

Mr Suthep said a single lane will be left open for commuters's vehicles at each intersection, but the PDRC will deny access to government vehicles.

The protesters will rally in different locations of Bangkok from Sunday to Wednesday, calling on the general public to join their "shut down Bangkok" operation, he added.

Share your thoughts

Discussion 1 : 03/01/2014 at 04:37 PM
Last mass protest on Sunday 22 December actually began with road closures the night before, so beware with this one
Discussion 2 : 03/01/2014 at 02:58 PM
This amount to blackmailing they claim they do it for the people, but its a minority. The reform cannot be impose by a minority no mater how high moral right they claim.

Back to top

More From Bangkokpost.com