44 provinces "cold disaster" zone

From December 2 last year until the present time altogether 526 districts of 44 provinces have been declared cold disaster zones where about 24 million people of 7.6 million households have been affected, the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department reported.

Of the 44 provinces, 20 are in the Northeast, 17 in the North, six in the Central and one in the East.

At the same time, seventeen districts in four provinces - Khon Kaen, Maha Sarakham, Buri Ram and Sing Buri - have been hit by drought.

Reservoirs at major dams in the country are now holding altogether 50,605 million cubic metres of water or 72% of the full capacity, 3,116 million cubic metres more than in 2012.

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From Bangkokpost.com