Arrest warrants for 19 PDRC leaders

The Criminal Court on Wednesday approved the Department of Special Investigation's (DSI) request for arrest warrants for 19 leading members of the People's Democratic Reform Committee (PDRC) for alleged violation of the emergency decree.

The court found there was sufficient evidence to confirm the 19 had violated the emergency decree imposed in Bangkok, Nonthaburi and parts of Pathum Thani and Samut Prakan provinces.

The court approved warrants for police to arrest the 19 and detain them at Region 1 Border Patrol Police Headquarters at Khlong 5 in Pathum Thani's Thanyaburi district for no more than seven days.

The arrest of each of the 19 suspects must be reported to the court in 48 hours.  The arrest warrants are valid for one year.

The warrants must not be displayed publicly.

The 19 suspects are Suthep Thaugsuban, Sathit Wongnongtoey, Chumpol Julasai, Putthipong Punnakant, Issara Somchai, Withaya Kaewparadai, Thaworn Senneam, Nathapol Teepsuwan, Akanat Promphan, Anchalee Paireerak, Nitithorn Lamlua, Uthai Yodmanee, Samdin Lertbut, Gen Preecha Iamsuphan, Ratchayut Sirayothinpakdi, Kittichai Saisa-ard, Samran Rodphet, Sonthiyan Chuenruthainaitham and Pansuwan Na Kaew.

The photo gallery captures the events surrounding anti-goverment protests, led by Suthep Thaugsuban, in Bangkok on Wednesday, Feb 5, 2014. (Bangkok Post photos)

Share your thoughts

Discussion 1 : 05/02/2014 at 08:48 PM
You will not have long to wait - then you can cry about violation of their human rights.
Discussion 2 : 05/02/2014 at 06:32 PM
Am i missing something here, the 1000's upon 1000's of protesters who were / still are on the streets are there for a reason. They want to end the tyranny. And to those who call them a mob en mass. They really are not. Some troublemakers and militant types sure but to refer to good and decent citizens who are protesting against a government who have performed shabbily at best is an absolute disgrace.
Discussion 3 : 05/02/2014 at 06:15 PM
the law is the law, irrespective of who is involved! we have had four months of protests already so what difference will it make if they protest again? this time the law is not on their side!
Discussion 4 : 05/02/2014 at 05:46 PM
Like Bush said: "Bring 'em on." How about: Come on Chalerm, deliver or shut up!
Discussion 5 : 05/02/2014 at 05:35 PM
happy ... now we can continue our normal life in our peaceful manner ... no longer under treat of a beating mob and dirty and polluting lawbreakers - may it be red or yellow ones - we fed up of all polit-hooligans. It is more than highest time for regular days, without the only disturbing selfishness and to come back to a communication culture. Who is not locking for dialogue, is no longer part of our world but an inmate. happy, really happy ...
Discussion 6 : 05/02/2014 at 05:27 PM
Crazy... This is a no-brainer that almost any other established democratic country would have taken long ago when private citizens lead a mob to take control of government buildings, unauthorized closing of public streets and interfere with democratic elections.
Discussion 7 : 05/02/2014 at 04:09 PM
crazy…. this is going to bring more people out onto the streets…. does this government ever think before they act?

Back to top

More From