16 provinces declared drought zones

A total of 2,876 villages in 62 districts of 16 provinces have been declared drought disaster zones in need of urgent assistance, Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department chief Chatchai Promlert announced on Sunday.

The 16 provinces are Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phrae and Tak in the North; Buri Ram, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen and Chaiyaphum in the Northeast; Sing Buri, Saraburi and Chai Nat in the Central; Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi and Prachin Buri in the East; and Trang in the South.

Major dam reservoirs throughout the country are now holding altogether 44,573 million cubic metres of water or 63% of capacity and only 21,070 million cubic metres of water is available for distribution.

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From Bangkokpost.com