20 provinces now drought zones

The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) on Monday said 529 tambons in 91 districts of 20 provinces were now declared drought disaster zones.

Share on Google+
LINE it!

The affected provinces are Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phrae, Tak, Nan, Phrayao and Phitsanulok in the North; Buri Ram, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen, Chaiyaphum and Si Sa Ket in the Northeast; Sing Buri, Saraburi and Chai Nat in the Central region; Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi and Prachin Buri in the East; and Trang and Satun in the South.

Some of the areas have been struck by drought since October 2013.

According to Thailand Integrated Water Resource Management, reservoirs in the country are now holding a total of 43,415 million cubic metres of water, 62% of their full capacity. However, only 19,912 million cubic metres of that amount, or 45%, is available for distribution.

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From Bangkokpost.com