Arrest warrants for 30 PDRC chiefs

The Criminal Court on Wednesday approved a request by the Department of Special Investigation (DSI) for arrest warrants for 30 leading members of the People's Democratic Reform Committee (PDRC) for insurrection and seven other charges.

The request, filed by DSI special case officer Pol Maj Yutthana Praedum, sought warrants for the arrest of 43 PDRC key leaders. 

But the court issued warrants for 30 who had not been the subject of arrest arrants before. The group, mostly former Democrat MPs, included Thaworn Senniam, Sathit Wongnongtoey, Chumpol Julasai, Putthipong Punnakant, Issara Somchai, Ekkanat Prompan, Nathapol Teepsuwan, Witthaya Kaewparadai and Jitrapas Kridakorn.

Thirteen others were already defendants in the case involving the seizure of Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi airports in 2008 by the yellow-shirt People's Alliance for Democracy (PAD).    

The court explained that the 13 were released on bail and had proved that they would not flee. They were under the court's authority and prosecutors would be able to submit indictments against them without bringing them into court, Therefore, the court dismissed the DSI applications for their arrest. 

The court attached conditions in the warrants for the 30 PDRC figures, ordering the DSI to hold them in custody only for the time needed for them to appear in court to acknowledge the indictments. Previous court arrest warrants on insurrection charges for 10 in the group would be revoked to avoid an overlap.  

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From