Correction: Thailand travel warning

A total of 62 countries have issued travel advisories for their citizens planning on visiting Thailand, according to the Foreign Affairs Ministry.

Eighteen of those countries have asked their citizens to reconsider non-essential travel to Thailand. The 18 are the United States, Spain, Italy, Russia, Greece, Hungary, Malta, Iran, Hong Kong, South Korea, Singapore, the Philippines, Malaysia, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Croatia and Cyprus.

Another 44 countries have warned their citizens to exercise caution while in Thailand by closely monitoring the situation and staying away from protest sites.

They are: Finland, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Chile, England, Ireland, France, Germany, Austria, Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, the Netherlands, Denmark, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, the Czech Republic, Romania, Latvia, Estonia, Slovakia, Luxemburg, Turkey, India, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Israel, Kazakhstan, Maldives, Japan, China, Taiwan, Macau, Indonesia, Brunei, Australia and New Zealand.

A previous story said 19 countries have issued "red alerts" for Thailand travel, which is incorrect.

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From