4 new lottery board members named

The military junta has replaced four Government Lottery Office executives in an attempt to meet public demands to bring down the high price of lottery tickets.

Share on Google+
LINE it!

The change was ordered and signed by NCPO chief Prayuth Chan-ocha over the weekend, but made public only on Tuesday.

Somchai Sujjapongse, the new director general of the Customs Department, will now chair the GLO's lottery tickets committee.

The other three appointees are Maj Gen Sarawut Larbdaecho, director of TV Channel 5's satellite department; Pornsak Srinarong, director-general of the Thonburi Criminal Litigation Department, and Chaiyaporn Thammapeera, CEO of listed contractor Pre-Built Plc (PREB).

The nine-member board usually comprises representatives from the Comptroller General's Department, Interior Ministry, the Budget Bureau and the National Council on Social Welfare of Thailand.

A selection process has begun to choose a new GLO director, who will double as a board member. It is expected to be completed in the next two to three months.

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From Bangkokpost.com