Prayuth beats Thaksin in Isan poll

Isan people have voted Yingluck Shinawatra and Prayuth Chan-ocha persons of the year for the first six months of this year, according to a poll.

Share on Google+
LINE it!

Ms Yingluck won in the female politician public administrator category, with 42.56%, followed by Pavena Hongsakula (3.03%) and Khunying Sudarat Keyuraphan (1.42%). Notably, 52.70% felt no one deserved the title.

Gen Prayuth won the same title for the male category, with 21.90%, followed by Thaksin Shinawatra (19.91%) and Abhisit Vejjajiva (6.92), with 41.99% feeling no one deserved the title.

The poll, better known as E-saan poll, was conducted by the E-saan Center for Business and Economic Research on 1,055 people in 20 northeastern provinces from July 3-7, 2014. It was an open poll in which no multiple choice was given and respondents proposed the names.

"The social activist of the year is Mrs Pavena (7.58%), followed by Bin Bunluerit (6.73%) and Suthep Thaugsuban (5.97%). The TV network of the year is Channel 3 (55.07%), Channel 7 and Modernine," said Kalapapruek Piwthongngam, director of the centre.

The top newspaper in the region is Thai Rath (51.37%), followed by Daily News (15.26%) and Matichon (4.36%).

The results from the poll will be combined with the other one to be done in the latter half.

Share your thoughts

Back to top

More From