Visa fee waiver

Thailand expects to welcome more tourists with the extension of the visa fee waiver. Photo: Thiti Wannamontha

The government has approved the six-month extension of the visa fee waiver and halved the visa-on-arrival fee to 1,000 baht for tourists from 21 countries.

According to Tourism Authority of Thailand governor Yuthasak Supasorn, visitors who need to apply for tourist visas at Royal Thai embassies or Thai consulates abroad will not have to pay any fees for entry visas. In addition, the fees for visas on arrival have been reduced from 2,000 baht to 1,000 baht per person.

The fee reduction will benefit tourists from 21 countries including Andorra, Bulgaria, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Papua New Guinea, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

The content shown above is only a small part of the full content, which we reserve for Bangkok Post digital archive subscription members. Please log in or subscribe to get the full content.


Back to top